In 2015 the Texas Legislature passed a bill authorizing the creation of 3 new seasons for fireworks sales to the public (HB 1150—click here to read it if you’re into that kind of thing).  The new potential seasons are Texas Independence Day (25 February thru 2 March), San Jacinto Day (16 April thru 21 April), and Memorial Day (basically 5 days leading up to Memorial Day).

However, these new seasons are different than the traditional 2 selling seasons.  The 4th of July season and New Year’s seasons are statewide—that is, it is legal to sell during these seasons in all parts of the state.  These new potential seasons are subject to local control—that is, each county has the authority to authorize any or all (or none) of these seasons. 

As of this writing (February 2016), the only metroplex counties to have authorized the new seasons are Collin (only Texas Independence Day) and (oddly) Parker (all 3 seasons are approved and good to go).  Tarrant County had a vote for Texas Independence Day on their agenda, but decided it would be best to not hold a vote.

So as of now, none of our super awesome mega stores are in a county that will allow us to open for the new season(s)—Rockwall, Tarrant, and Hunt.  We are trying to work with county officials to get them to see the light of increasing liberty, but it is, unfortunately, an uphill battle.  If any of ya’ll would like to contact your county officials to express support for the new seasons, please feel free to do so.  As always, be passionate, but please, also be respectful.

8 March 2016 update. . .

The Rockwall county commissioners just passed a resolution enabling the new selling seasons for Rockwall county.  This means the Nelson’s Fireworks store on I-30 just east of Rockwall will be open 16 April thru 21 April for San Jacinto Day and 25 May thru 30 May for Memorial Day.


Open: Memorial Day Season (May 24 thru May 29)

Caddo Mills Megastore
10am - 9pm

Rockwall Megastore
10am - 9pm

Home |  Products |  Coupons |  Locations |  History |  FAQ |  Safety |  Links |  Contact Us

© 2011 Nelson's Fireworks Outlet, Inc.